Close this search box.


NPHC Lansing Worship Service Fellowship

Members of the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC), also known as the “Divine Nine,” visited UMBC today as part of their Greek Unity Worship Service fellowship. The NPHC is a group of nine historically Black sororities and fraternities. The Divine Nine serves as an agent to raise “community awareness and action through educational, economic and cultural service activities,” according to the NPHC website.

The NPHC was founded on May 10, 1930, at Howard University in Washington, DC. The chartering organizations were:
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.,
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.,
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.,
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., and
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

In 1931, two fraternities were added to the NPHC, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. In 1937, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was added to the roster, and the NPHC was incorporated under
Illinois state law. The youngest member of the Divine Nine, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. was added in 1997.

NPHC has more than 2.5 million active members and scores of alumni members. NPHC members are leaders in civic, business, and faith communities.

Here are some of our UMBC members who are also members of the Divine 9
Pastor Kenny Craig
Lady Corrie Craig
Deacon Wayne Lynn
Trustee Charles Green
Barbara Davis
Minister Nathaniel Lake
Minster Hope Rollins
Dale Copedge
Sonya Sanford-Quinney
Ethel White
Dionne Davis
Rhonda Jones
Lural Baltimore
Minister Chris Rollins
Zakiya Williams
Lynette Connor Long
Bobby Ficklin, Esq.
Octavius Long
Deacon Dr. Cheryl Celestine
Trustee Jame Stokes
Mother Merriweather
Judge Wanda Stokes
Doris Copedge
Dr. Marshanda Smith
Jan Henderson
Bruce Caradine
Sharon Civils
Talitha Wimberly
Angela Purches
Helen Graham
Patricia Smith
Cordell Henderson
Nate Webb
Stephanie Jones
Wanda Jones

Share this post: